top of page
Search

Asymptomatic Testing Assistant Role!

A couple of weeks ago, I was scrolling through my university emails and I saw something that caught my eye:


Apply to be an asymptomatic testing assistant for Covid-19’


As a scientist, these sort of things interest me greatly. The opportunity to gain experience and earn money whilst doing it? It sounded very ideal. Then I looked into the terms and conditions. The date which I needed to be available until was ideal for me, and I was indeed available after having done the bulk of my assignments a few weeks previously. Despite the obvious pros to this job, I was torn about whether I should apply for it or not, mostly becauseI was worried about the implications on my own safety and the safety of my family, as I’d be travelling home for Christmas just a few days after my last shift. I decided to just apply and make my mind up if I job offered the job. To my delight, I was successful and attended training a few days later. 


I’ve been working at the test centre for a few weeks now and it has been a very valuable experience. Not only have I met some wonderful people, but I have picked up some new, relevant skills and experience that can enhance my CV. The testing process itself is straight forward- the individuals making use of the test centre test themselves and we as assistants talk them through it. The rapid tests were intriguing at first- you mix the individuals' used swabs with a solution, and it is then dropped onto an antigen test containing what I assume is a TLC plate, as the liquid moves up the plate. A single control line indicates a negative test, meanwhile both a control and test line means a positive test and a test line indicates a void result.






The testing process is relatively straightforward once you get a hang of it, but I’ve struggled with the whole ‘PPE’ aspect of the job. I find myself panicking about how often I need to change my PPE etc, but I think that is mostly because I am being precautious.


I think it’s so great that the university is offering an asymptomatic testing centre, as it allows people to be safe for christmas.



Here’s my little ladybug friend!!❤️❤️


Does anybody have any requests to hear about over christmas? I’d love your input. Drop a comment if you do!

62 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page